aardvarkcola

People love dirt

Posted on: September 4, 2008

I’m sure I was first on WordPress.com and the first on Digg to have an article on Republican vice-presidential nominee Sarah Palin’s September 3 acceptance speech before the Republican National Convention.

While John McCain and Palin were hugging on stage I pounded out the piece, stuck it in this very new Aardvarkcola WordPress blog, added a Digg link and waited to see the traffic results. But before I went to bed I added a piece I titled Sarah Barracuda, a link to a revealing email by Wasilla, Alaska resident Anne Kilkenny, very critical of Sarah Palin as mayor and governor.

The traffic on this new blog is admittedly piddly, but I woke this morning, and checked the stats. My report on Palin’s speech I had high hopes for had 13 hits. I was disappointed to say the least. I thought if you’re first you have to have 1,000 hits at least, right? Wrong. The Sarah Barracuda piece had 37 hits. People love dirt.

This blog was started August 28, seven days ago. My goal is to see how long Aardvarkcola will take to get 1,000 hits in one day from a standing start. At 10:00 a.m., on the blog’s seventh day, the count for the morning is 56.

Looking at the bright side, I’m over five per cent there! My Aardvarkcola ambitions for the day have shrunk considerably. Now I’m hoping for 10 per cent of my goal by day’s end.

Meanwhile, its coffee time.

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • wordbeeps: No, he doesn't deserve an apology. Who tweets during a funeral? If you do, expect feedback. I didn't say the mourners were faking it. I think they we
  • Holly Stick: Look you fuckwit, are you too stupid to realise that Ghomeshi was an actual friend of Layton's, when you tweeted to him that the mourners were faking
  • aardvarkcola: Thank you. I see the rest of your message now. i'm honoured to to have your words on my blog. That alone is a delight. Lawrence

Categories

