aardvarkcola

Busy, busy, busy

Posted on: October 3, 2008

I’ll be back to writing posts tonight.

I was listening to the speeches in the American House of Representatives- the bailout package vote is upcoming in a matter of minutes- and was impressed by House Majority Leader Steny Hoyer. No Congressmen have ever impressed me as articulate in the same vein as members of the UK House of Commons- Hoyer might look quite comfortable in that chamber of articulate parliamentarians. (written later- well, maybe not- he looks rather too presidential- that slow speaking style whereas the British Commons is like university frat club for debates- quick on one’s feet- quick with a jab- quick with the facts in your head) He would certainly hold his own in Canada’s House of Commons.

It is sad to say American Congress representatives have usually impressed me as inarticulate and incapable of homework. Listening to Hoyer was a pleasant surprise.

Had to listen to the leaders debate on radio- missed much of it- Harper had some good digs in and though under attack was never on the defensive from what I heard. I switched to Palin-Biden on occasion. More on that later.

I had to deal with business and got very little sleep. Such bad timing to deal with business when the two debates I really wanted to see were on.

Such is life.

1 Response to "Busy, busy, busy"

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • wordbeeps: No, he doesn't deserve an apology. Who tweets during a funeral? If you do, expect feedback. I didn't say the mourners were faking it. I think they we
  • Holly Stick: Look you fuckwit, are you too stupid to realise that Ghomeshi was an actual friend of Layton's, when you tweeted to him that the mourners were faking
  • aardvarkcola: Thank you. I see the rest of your message now. i'm honoured to to have your words on my blog. That alone is a delight. Lawrence

Categories

