aardvarkcola

Who to vote for? My goodness! I’m undecided!!

Posted on: October 12, 2008

I can write about the candidates, but here’s the question- who am I going to vote for?

First, in this election I don’t give a damn who the local candidate is. I haven’t attended a single discussion on the candidates, not a single forum, haven’t met them, haven’t gone to their campaign office to pick up literature.

Let me first say how much a departure that is for me.

Two federal elections ago I actually arranged a local forum of federal election candidates. (I went into the Liberal campaign office just set up and noticed a large calendar on the wall. It was almost filled but one day was free of meetings and forums. I picked up a marker, wrote in “forum” and the place, and phoned the other candidates saying the Liberal candidate had already committed to that date. (Which he had without my asking, because during a busy campaign, everyone is just going to go with what’s written on the calendar.)

So it’s very different for me not to seek out the local candidates and talk to them.

Why don’t I give a damn about local candidates in this election? They don’t matter. They are interchangable. Once in a while you get a great one, like our MP just leaving. No one is going to be able to fill his shoes.

So I’m voting for the party.

First to eliminate some choices. Bloc is out, of course. I’m in Alberta.

I just love Elizabeth May but, sorry Green Party, I’m not sending a vote your way.

Okay, that leaves the Conservatives, the Liberals and the New Democrats. That means, for the first time in my life in an election, particularly at this late hour- just two days before the vote- I am officially undecided.

Horrors.

I’m one of them.

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • wordbeeps: No, he doesn't deserve an apology. Who tweets during a funeral? If you do, expect feedback. I didn't say the mourners were faking it. I think they we
  • Holly Stick: Look you fuckwit, are you too stupid to realise that Ghomeshi was an actual friend of Layton's, when you tweeted to him that the mourners were faking
  • aardvarkcola: Thank you. I see the rest of your message now. i'm honoured to to have your words on my blog. That alone is a delight. Lawrence

Categories

