aardvarkcola

This blog has been interupted by a dilemma

Posted on: November 14, 2008

Haven’t posted for a while due to dilemma interuptions.

After evicting a tenant who hadn’t paid rent for three months, I discovered upon return to the house, by unexpectedly splashing through water going downstairs, that a metre of water in the drywalled basement meant I had an unexpected indoor swimming pool.

I hadn’t re-rented the place right away as the deadbeat tenants left the house a disasterous mess. I expected to do some serious cleaning up, but nothing on this level. It’s freakin’ serious. It is absolutely unbelievable.

This follows on the heels of another bad renter- another house- that I am still doing repairs on a year and a half later. Just when I was beginning to see the end of this, I am pushed back tens of thousands of dollars and lucky to save the house.

I’ll tell you. If you are a landlord, act like Mike Holmes looking for a contractor. References, references, references. Include a clause they can be evicted with 72 hours notice for any reason. Unreasonable? Ha! No pets of any sort. Not even goldfish. When you rent a place you own out, you’ll learn fast tenants can put you in the poorhouse. Tenant rights? I’m learning landlord rights should be seriously beefed up.

And I was so nice! Ten days free to get moved in. Late with rent? You know it can’t happen again. You know, it can’t happen again. (Are you listening?) Excuse me, your cheque has bounced. (There’s more but you wouldn’t believe it.) Best advice from my vantage point? Be cruel, severe, and no nonsense. One strike, you’re gone. No exceptions. Before all this, it would be seemed unreasonable to me. No longer.

I’m at the end of my freakin’ teather with people who want to rent and treat my houses, including the home I have lived in like it was a doghouse or worse.

What could be causing intentional damage would get you in trouble in some countries. I’m still determining if this was intentional. The evidence is pointing to likely. The thought briefly crossed my mind (ugly thought) that maybe the Taliban have a better justice system than Canada, in spite of all the fighting we are doing in Afghanistan so they adopt fair justice methods or something close to it. (Erase that thought.)

I wish I had Mike Holmes phone number. I just absolutely am flabbergasted by the damage, and this was a family of four. It is just unbelievable. It’s like a nightmare you never wake from.

Blogging on politics, ours and American, will be a pleasure once all this is straightened out.

If ever.

Meanwhile, feel free to read back posts. Thanks, and may you never rent to deadbeats. I am getting out of the business of renting to people for good.

If you have property you rent out, your risk is huge, the returns mediocre.

Know something that further amazes me? I’m amazed I didn’t swear even once in this entire post. And now, back to work.

1 Response to "This blog has been interupted by a dilemma"

Hey Aard (can I call you Aard?)
Bad tenants can definitely cause headaches and checking references gets rid of 95% of the problems, just make sure you check all the references and especially the landlord prior to their current one. If they are bad tenants, there is a potential for the current landlord to lie about them just to get them off his or her books.
I’ve evicted tenants through various methods over the years, and every time it was because I didn’t follow my systems and put tenants in who I felt needed help. I have a walk through of the eviction process in Calgary on my blog here, http://www.investors.housez.ca/?p=83 if you have time for a half hour read.
Enjoy the tale and I hope you have better luck in the future.

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • wordbeeps: No, he doesn't deserve an apology. Who tweets during a funeral? If you do, expect feedback. I didn't say the mourners were faking it. I think they we
  • Holly Stick: Look you fuckwit, are you too stupid to realise that Ghomeshi was an actual friend of Layton's, when you tweeted to him that the mourners were faking
  • aardvarkcola: Thank you. I see the rest of your message now. i'm honoured to to have your words on my blog. That alone is a delight. Lawrence

Categories

